



Emblem of South Korea

The National Emblem of the Republic of Korea consists of the taeguk symbol present on the country's national flag surrounded by five stylized petals and a ribbon bearing the inscription "The Republic of Korea". The Taegeuk represents peace and harmony. The five petals all have meaning and are related to Korea's national flower, the Hibiscus syriacus, or Rose of Sharon. It was adopted in 1963.